Life in LA

My trip to LA was amazing! I had two wonderful hosts that cooked for me, took me to great places to eat, drove me to see amazing sites and drove me to the office every day and the airport – twice

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Working in the LA office was seemed so much more enjoyable than working in my normal location.  The people were wonderful and the view was spectacular.  Heck, I don’t even have a window at my normal office!

IMG_6307
Mickey Mouse Tote

I was lucky to be able to stay with a co-worker (G) and her hubby (C) instead of staying in a hotel.  They were great hosts – and a bonus – C is a chef.  G has no idea how lucky she is to come home to the smell of dinner cooking every night!  And since I don’t drive in the big cities – they carted my happy ass everywhere!  Work, dinner, and even the beach for a run.  I really can’t express how much I appreciate them taking me in.  I did make this cute Mickey Mouse bag as a small token of my appreciation.  (Pattern can be found here). One night when G was busy doing homework, another co-worker (L) took us to Chinatown, where we got to see all of the fun little shops and ate at one of the highly recommended restaurants there.

IMG_6442
Sunrise

I loved LA, but as much as I hate to admit it, I was missing Iowa. By Sunday, I was ready to go home. But the universe had other plans for me.  My flight out of LAX was delayed so much, that I wouldn’t have been able to make my connecting flight, so after spending half the day in the airport G & C picked me up again and took me home for another night.  Then before the crack of dawn Monday morning C got up and took me back to the airport for a 6AM flight!  Bonus to the situation? I wasn’t getting home at almost midnight and I got to see the sunrise from the plane.

 

Flying is not my most favorite thing to do, but it truly is amazing that we can fling this giant metal thing in the air and fly at super speed above the clouds. I love looking out the window…I’m equally amazed and a bit freaked out all at the same time.

When I finally got home, everyone was so excited to see me – kids, dogs and hubby…. and the crazy picked right back up where I had left it. Got home, showered, picked up and kids and headed out to a baseball game.  It’s been a little difficult getting back into the normal swing of things, but I’m getting there.

IMG_2994
I think they missed me
Leave a Reply

